Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Faculty of Biology, Chemistry & Earth Sciences

Print page

How can we help you?

Below you will find an overview of the organizational structure of the Faculty of Biology, Chemistry & Earth Sciences, including contact details, to provide you with the most important information at a glance. 

Dean's OfficeHide


Vice Dean

Women's Representative of the Faculty

  • JProf. Dr. Johanna Pausch
    Equal Opportunities Homepage                                                                                                                                                 

Dean's Office
Violaine Zigan
(doctoral studies, sick leave, appointments, inaugural lectures, homepage)
NW I, Room
Phone: +49 (0)921 / 55-2524
Fax: +49 (0)921 / 55-84-2524 or +49 (0)921 / 55-2535
E-mail: dekanat.bcg@uni-bayreuth.de

Faculty Administration
Henrike Begemann
(interests of the Faculty, meetings of the Faculty Council/ doctoral committees/ management committees, Habilitation, holiday leave, distributing budgetary funds, liaison with University Administration) 
NW I, Room
Phone: +49 (0)921 / 55-2523
Fax: +49 (0)921 / 55-84-2523 or +49 (0)921 / 55-2535
E-mail: henrike.begemann@uni-bayreuth.de

Sandra Kopschitz
(administration of budgetary funds)
GEO II, Room 157
Phone: +49 (0)921 / 55-2276
Fax: +49 (0)921 / 55-84 -2276
E-mail: sandra.kopschitz@uni-bayreuth.de

Mail Room
Detlev Weihermüller
NW I, Room
Phone: +49 (0)921 / 55-2526
Fax: +49 (0)921 / 55-2535

Thorsten Franke
GEO II, Room 1
Tel.: +49 (0)921 / 55-2229
Fax: +49 (0)921 / 55-2351

​Educare Study Support & Dean of StudiesHide

Dean of Studies

Prof. Dr. Eberhard Rothfuß, Population & Social Geography
Phone: +49 (0)921 / 55-2278
E-mail: eberhard.rothfuss@uni-bayreuth.de

EduCare | study support

Lina Fürst / Anke Levermann
B3, Room 13
Phone: +49 (0)921 / 55-2187
E-mail: lina.fuerst@uni-bayreuth.de; anke.levermann@uni-bayreuth.de

Educare Homepage

Administration of Student Subsidies

Franziska Guhl
NW I, Room
Phone: +49 (0)921 / 55-2594
Fax: +49 (0)921 / 55-84-2594
E-mail: franziska.guhl@uni-bayreuth.de

Faculty Committee for Study Allowances

  • Prof. Dr. Eberhard Rothfuß (Chairman)
  • Prof. Dr. Stephan Clemens
  • Prof. Dr. Michael Hauhs (Earth Sciences, advisory function)
  • Dr. Torsten Irrgang
  • Prof. Dr. Rainer Schobert

Student Representatives:

  • Urte Bauer (Geography)
  • Johannes Kallus (Geo-Ecology)
  • Florian Riethmüller (Chemistry)
  • Tom Steinlein (Biology)
​Faculty CouncilHide


  • Urte Bauer (Stud. rer. nat.)
  • Prof. Dr. Josef Breu
  • Prof. Dr. Matthias Breuning (Dean; Chairman)
  • Prof. Dr. Bettina Engelbrecht
  • Bettina Firmke (Stud. rer. nat.)
  • Prof. Dr. Michael Hauhs
  • Prof. Dr. Eva Lehndorff
  • Ute Meyer (Verw.-Ang.)
  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Möglich
  • Prof. Dr. Stefan Ouma
  • JProf. Dr. Johanna Pausch (Women's Representative)
  • Dr. Sabine Rosenfeldt
  • Prof. Dr. Eberhard Rothfuß (Dean of Studies)
  • Prof. Dr. Olaf Stemmann
  • Dr. René Uebe
  • Prof. Dr. Benedikt Westermann

Meetings in Summer Semester 2021:


Meetings in Winter Semester 2021/2022:

27.10.2021, 24.11.2021, 19.01.2022


Department of Biology

Department of Chemistry

Department of Earth Sciences

​Research groupsHide



Earth Sciences

​Doctoral ResearchHide

At the Faculty of Biology, Chemistry & Earth Sciences, there are two ways to pursue doctoral research (leading to the degree "Dr.rer.nat."): individual doctoral research at the Faculty or a doctorate at the Bayreuth Graduate School of Mathematical and Natural Sciences (BayNAT).

When registering for doctoral studies, you will have to choose one of these two options; changing between these options at a later time is not permitted.

Individual Doctoral Research

When the doctorate is pursued on an individual basis at the Faculty, the supervisor and doctoral researcher set out the basic points mutually agreed upon in a written supervisory agreement.

Doctoral Research at BayNAT

If you choose to pursue doctoral research at the Bayreuth Graduate School of Mathematical and Natural Sciences (BayNAT) - a cross-faculty unit shared by Faculties I, II, and VI - you will complete your doctorate in a structured doctoral programme. In addition to your supervisor, two other mentors help supervise your doctoral project. The credit point requirements must also be met.

Membership in the University of Bayreuth Graduate School is open to every doctoral researcher, regardless of the form of his or her doctorate.

For questions on the topic of doctoral research, please contact the Office of the Dean:
Violaine Zigan
NW I, Room
Phone: +49 (0)921 / 55-2524
Fax: +49 (0)921 / 55-84-2524 or +49 (0)921 / 55-2535
E-mail: dekanat.bcg@uni-bayreuth.de


"The Habilitation is designed to formally determine one's scientific and pedagogical aptitude for a career as a university professor in a specific subject area (teaching qualification). The purpose of the Habilitation process is to give particularly qualified junior scholars the opportunity to independently assume responsibilities in research and teaching and allow them to achieve the qualification necessary for appointment as professor, if possible within four years, under the supervision of a mentoring group. “(…)”

Translation of an excerpt from the Faculty's Habilitation Regulations

For further information on the Habilitation process at the Faculty of Biology, Chemistry & Earth Sciences, please contact:

Henrike Begemann
NW I, Room
Phone: +49 (0)921 / 55-2523
E-mail: henrike.begemann@uni-bayreuth.de

​Student RepresentativesHide

Urte Bauer
Bettina Firmke
NW I, Room
Phone: +49 (0)921 / 55-2212
E-mail: fs-bcg@uni-bayreuth.de

Homepage of the student representatives

  • BcG Alumni e.V. Alumni Association of the Faculty of Biology, Chemistry & Earth Sciences
  • CSG e.V.: The Department of Chemistry's Alumni Portal

Webmaster: Violaine Zigan

Facebook Twitter Youtube-Kanal Instagram Blog UBT-A Contact